DUI: Mandatory Fines and Penalties for Repeat Offenses
On December 7, the town of Hackettstown began a formal Drive Sober or Get Pulled Over campaign, setting up checkpoints and patrols to curb drunk driving during the holiday season. While Hackettstown has made the news for its formal operation, New Jersey police and troopers statewide are on high alert during every holiday season. Their goal is to stop intoxicated drivers, to deter driving under the influence, and to make roads safer during this busy but dangerous driving season.
We have written previously about the general penalties for driving under the influence in New Jersey with blood alcohol content from .08 up to .10. Repeated convictions for driving under the influence carry greater penalties—many of which are mandatory. For the third offense and beyond, for example, there is:
- A required fine of $1,000
- Mandatory imprisonment for 180 days
- License suspension for 10 years
- Involuntary detainment in an in-patient alcoholism treatment program
- Fee to the Intoxicated Driver Resource Center
- A $1,500 annual vehicle insurance surcharge for 3 years
- One to three years of required ignition interlock device use after the license is restored
Each conviction also carries with it additional charges:
- $100 payable to the Drunk Driving Enforcement Fund
- $100 payable to the Motor Vehicle Commission for a restoration fee
- $50 payable to the Violent Crimes Compensation Fund
- $75 payable to the Safe and Secure Community Program
- $100 fee for the Intoxicated Driving Program
Driving drunk can cost lives. Even when, fortunately it does not, New Jersey’s goal is to make it costly to drive under the influence by imposing stiff penalties.
If you have been accused of driving under the influence, Contact us . You need a strong defense, even for your first offense.